the photography post

Warning: The following post is technical and boring. Unless you care about photography, skip it.

Any photo under the “photography” tag was taken by me. Same goes for the banner at the top of this page.

Back in high school I used to shoot black and white on an old Pentax. Black and white FILM. If you can imagine. I still have negatives that I developed but never made into prints. Maybe someday I’ll make that happen and post some of it. I still kind of like shooting black & white – and it’s easier to master than color, I think – but the digital age has made it too easy to switch back and forth at will.

I got back into photography sometime around April 2007 when I realized my job was crushing my will to live and I needed a hobby that did not involve my Playstation 3. My camera is a Sony α100 10.2 megapixel DSLR and all I have right now is an 18-200mm lens. [Update: I still have the α100 but also have bought the α700] I based my purchase on a combination of quality, affordability, and availability of an “all-in-one” lens. The setup I described runs for about a grand; a comparable Nikon or Canon would probably be $3-500 more. Now I’m sort of wishing I had a) more megapixels and b) more lenses. More lenses is a problem. Sony is pretty new to the SLR game and they don’t have as big a selection as Canon or Nikon, and I don’t think they have anything right now that goes past 300 mm. When you want to shoot sports or things from tall buildings, that would be handy. I think old Konica Minolta lenses work with Sony, so I may look into that.

But I’ve been really happy with the Sony for what it is. I’ve also picked up Photoshop Elements which is a $100 version of normal Photoshop and has just about anything you could need as an amateur. I have a Picasa account as well, and before I got Elements I used Picasa to make minor adjustments to my photos. If you don’t even want drop a c-note on Elements, do yourself a favor and pick up Picasa. The “I’m feeling lucky” button alone is worth it.

UPDATE: In addition to the kit lens, I’ve picked up a couple more lenses. Next up is probably a 100mm prime macro of some kind. Here’s what I have right now:

  • Sony 18-200 f/3.5-6.3
  • Sony 50mm f/1.4
  • Minolta 70-210 f/4
  • Minolta 100mm f/2.8 Macro D
4 Responses to “the photography post”

  1. jumpinjimmyjava Says:

    Hey, it’s only 10% camera and 90% photographer that really counts !! – jimmy –

    http://www.cafepress.com/mooned
    http://jumpinjimmyjava.wordpress.com/

  2. tiff Says:

    this was oddly fascinating to me! I’m trying on photography as a hobby, as my job is soul and life sucking. I’ve got a Nikon D40 beginners SLR, but am now looking seriously at lenses, which I didn’t even know was such a big deal. So many lenses!

    Anyway, what are you shooting off tall buildings?

  3. Pete Says:

    Anything I can find. Both pictures I’ve posted so far are from my office. I should try to post some things from the ground.

  4. tiff Says:

    the ground is a place too! but if shooting from tall buildings results in pics like the header, then who needs the ground?

Leave a Reply

