working late again

One of my early efforts at nighttime photography. This picture upsets me in two ways.

1. My office does not have a light switch and my firm does not turn off the lights until 2 am in an effort to make people think that we are all working until 2 am. This is a blatant lie as I was home just after midnight tonight. Anyway, this led to the fun exercise of me with my coat over my head hunched over the tripod like an old-timey photographer. If the cleaning lady came in she would have thought I was trying to be a ghost. Even so I couldn’t prevent some glare in the left corners.

2. The John Hancock building sort of looks like an angry robot that is overseeing my work and this creates feelings of dismay within my soul.

UPDATE: I have played with teh photoshoop and mitigated the glare and given the picture a sepia tint. I was unable to find the photoshop function that would alleviate my robot-skyscraper anxiety though.

6 Responses to “working late again”

  1. tiff Says:

    wow. I love it.

  2. K Says:

    Petey Pete I want a copy of this to hang on my wall.

  3. Kayleigh Says:

    Wow. Gorgeous. And I can see my apartment building in that picture! By the way working at 2 a.m.? Ugh.

  4. Teri M. Says:

    The sepia gives it a Metropolis sort of look. Of course that probably doesn’t help with the robot-skyscraper anxiety.
    I like it.

  5. Zetetic Says:

    Despite your “robo-pomorphizing” of the Hancock Building, it’s really quite an extraordinary view; I’m almost envious. Unfortunately, the tragedy that lies with this view is the responsibility accompanying it to not let yourself use it as a permanent escape upon realizing you’re still at work in the wee hours of the morning. But then, that’s why I’m on a ground floor.

  6. Big Time Fancy Says:

    Love it. Also, I can totally see MY building from YOUR building.

Leave a Reply

