the blog post

When I was really swamped at work, I felt like I had scads of blog ideas. Maybe I still do, but with the weather getting nicer and more free time on my hands, blogging has slipped on my list of priorities. For example, this weekend, between cleaning my apartment, finally getting new glasses after I lost my old pair months ago, taking my parents to dinner at Naha, and buying lap dances for my ex-girlfriend at VIPs (did not really plan the last one but such is life), there wasn’t a lot of time for blogging.

One thing I wanted to do was take care of some meta-business and plug some other blogs.

  • First off, my friend Reedy has embarked on a beer-review blog called The Illiterate Drinker which I think has a lot of potential. The title derives from the fact that he admittedly has no idea how to write about beer yet, but if lines like “Such was this case with this chubby bottle. At first, the intricate lettering on the label drew me in, like a well-dressed, though slightly stout lady from across the bar. I picked it up and for a low price was able to take it home with me.” are any indication, this blog will go places.
  • Next up is a self-plug for a blog that is already basically dead. The idea was that the Chicago Cab Blog would consist of me live-blogging every trip I take in a cab. This arose due to a particularly wacky cab ride about a week ago where the cabbie was laughing uncontrollably the whole way due to my friend’s story about how he, a straight white male, ended up accidentally on a date with a man that ended with my friend repeatedly being called the N-word. Also at some point I apparently did a very good impression of the Virgin Mary, if she was from New Jersey. I have no idea why I did that, what that impression consisted of, and by what measure my friends considered it “good,” but that is neither here nor there.Unfortunately, as you’ll see, most cab rides are really fucking boring, and the fun ones are too fun to live-blog. So I think that blog is pretty much over, but at least it is amusing to see it die.
  • D-blogged is a male blogger in Chicago. Chicago blogs, at least those I’ve found on 20somethings and Chicago Bloggers, are absolutely dominated by women. There are a few other male Chicago bloggers I’ve come across but they are either niche blogs or just weird. I’d link to something specific from d-blogged but Google is currently accusing me of being a virus program or something and won’t allow me access to his site. FUCK YOU GOOGLE WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE SKYNET I WILL NOT LET YOU NUKE THE RUSSIANS.
  • Speaking of the legion of Chicago female bloggers, I have to admit that I regularly read some of their blogs, starting naturally with Damsel in Digress, who may or may not also have been at VIPs on Saturday. Even though I never really blog about relationships myself, I of course like reading about other people’s attempts at romance, including Big Time Fancy and Kayleigh at No Guts, No Glory (moar stories of exs plz Kayleigh kthxbai). Not to say that that’s all they blog about, but anyway, good stuff.
  • I also got a shout-out on You are flawed if you are not free which is not a blog I had really read previously. I happen to know that a sizable chunk of my readership LOVES MS Paint masterpieces and although I’ve now graduated to Photoshop, YAFIYANF will more than meet your needs for hilarious MS Paint artwork and so I recommend you check her out.

I have other blogs that have been visiting me that I am meaning to check out but my life is just one big backlog.

7 Responses to “the blog post”

  1. Damsel in Digress Says:

    where was my lap dance, huh? WHERE?

    did you get some idea i don’t like naked boobs covered with pasties danging in my face?

  2. freeandflawed Says:

    Thanks for the link love 🙂

  3. d Says:

    damsel likes boobs DANGIN, fools.

    thanks for the shout out, homie.

  4. Big Time Fancy Says:

    Aw! Thanks for the plug!

  5. Laura Says:

    Don’t pretend it wasn’t one of your fave nights EVER!

  6. Pete Says:

    D in D – your man was there, bug him. i can only bankroll so many shenanigans.

  7. Kayleigh Says:

    Awwww thanks for the shout out, Pete. I feel rather sheepish for only seeing this today….forgive?

    Gah, my relationship madness via blogger has reached critical mass I’m afraid. However, more to come of that nonsense.

    P.S. Your shameless T2 plug warmed my heart and made me giggle. I think I am one of 5 women on the planet who loves that movie.

Leave a Reply

