they are hot on my trail

I used to joke about a conspiracy against me, but it is becoming very real.

To recap:

1. My favorite weekend hungover food is Burger King. I live about 4 blocks away from the one that was on North and Wells. They closed it and now I have to drive basically to Humboldt Park for a Whopper. It is now a Fifth/Third Bank which doesn’t even make sense. I am calling you Fifteenth Bank.

2. My favorite summer hangout was literally a block away from my house. It was Cactus. They served rumrunners. They were delicious and boozy. Cactus was closed to make way for a “boutique hotel.” The only construction that has gone on so far is to rip out every vestige of Cactus and its lamer but still-better-than-nothing cousin, Melvin B’s.

3. Goose Island totally changed their menu, removing such winners as the Bison Burger. Then they announced they are closing their location nearest to me.

4. Chili’s has discontinued the Awesome Blossom, and you may know my feelings about it.

And now:

As a simple substitute, I remembered that the Bennigan’s around the corner from my work has a popcorn shrimp appetizer that they serve with fried onion straws. I figured this would be a good way to fill the Awesome Blossom void. I ordered it once last week.

In today’s Tribune:

Bennigan’s closes restaurant at 225 N. Michigan

Jay Aitch Sharkeffin to the Cee.

p.s. I promise my next post will not be about food i miss.

7 Responses to “they are hot on my trail”

  1. K Says:

    Dude, you may have a food & drink conspiracy against you, but I have a man conspiracy against me. I think I walked into some toxic waste and came away with the power to meet the one guy in the bar of 100 NOT from New York City. Seriously…Boston…Maine…Virginia…Jersey…Philly…Albany… Not a single asshole in New York City, “supposedly” on of America’s largest cities. My unfortunate conclusion, which I draw from your facts as well, is that Jeebus/Buddha/Shannon is telling me (us) to move.

  2. Pete Says:

    Maybe the message is that you are supposed to have a lot of one night stands.

  3. Damsel in Digress Says:

    you need to stop lamenting cactus.

    and yes, that’s coming from me.

    if you don’t, how the fuck am i going to continue living in denial about that place. i.e. forgetting that it EVER existed because the pain without it in my life is too much.

    goddamn it. i miss the days when i’d spray my asthma inhaler into my third 20 ounce rum runner.

  4. d Says:

    i thought it was obvious that this city needed another boutique hotel.

  5. Jessica Says:

    Yeah what’s up with Bennigans!?? The one by my office building is so creepy now with the lights off and tables set. So odd.

  6. Bubs Says:

    Who are you? Fucking Bubbles?

    Stop talking about food.

  7. Ismael Says:

    There is a Bennigans 3 blocks away by the Art Institute. I liked that Bennigans though, they had $5 on Wednesdays.

Leave a Reply

