ticket to history

Four years ago it was in the law library, while “studying.”

Four years before that, I didn’t even really care much, but I remember watching part of it in Willard at NU, and the only reason I would have been at Willard would be to drink.*

This year I will be watching election returns in a mildly more exciting place: with the Democratic nominee and current favorite for President-Elect, at his rally in Grant Park.


Before the rally, there’s some voting to do. I am voting for Barack Obama. Ten years ago I came to college as a conservative, raised to believe that gays were wrong, affirmative action was reverse racism, and that generally you had to look out for number one. I still look out for number one, but I also realize that I’m much better off when everybody is better off. My Republican co-workers are up in arms over the few dollars of an increased tax burden that Obama might place on their already ludicrously high salary; I am more concerned about the fact that our ludicrously high-paying jobs could be in jeopardy if the economy does not improve, and John McCain gives me no reason to trust him with economic leadership. Tax policy, in any event, takes a back seat to issues like the separation of church and state, freedom to associate, the right to privacy, and in general, not being treated like an idiot by our leaders. Is voting for Obama something of a gamble? I suppose, but I do not think it is substantially more of a gamble than any major candidate we’ve had out there in my lifetime.

Anyway. You don’t really care what I have to say about that.

update: for the record, my views on gays, race, and just about everything else my parents told me was true have changed approximately 180 degrees in the last decade and change.

*or chase girls I guess – my girlfriend-of-four-years-to-be was living in Willard at the time, but we would not get together for another week; I remember this because our anniversary was Veteran’s Day, 11-11, which is about as easy a day to remember as any.

7 Responses to “ticket to history”

  1. K Says:

    I appreciate you “reaching across the aisle” and voting Dem.

  2. Jessica Says:

    I will see you tomorrow night in Grant Park! I’ll be wearing an Obama button, I’m sure you’ll be able to find me 🙂

    I’m voting first-thing tomorrow too.

  3. deutlich Says:

    I can not WAIT for tomorrow.

  4. Maxie Says:

    I’m so jealous of everyone in Chicago, but I’ll be watching from WV. Go Obama!

  5. muth Says:

    I did not even know it was veteran’s day.

  6. Lola Says:

    Lucky Bastard. Have a great time and enjoy being a part of history! I waited in line for an hour to vote (I got there at 5:45am) for Obama this morning. We, on the other hand, will be taking shots of liquor for every blue state and shots of beer for every Obama electorate. We will probably die of alcohol poisoning sometime around midnight EST. Cheers!

  7. Bubs Says:

    You were probably in Willard with me. I remember coming to Chi Phi later in the night and staying up ’till like 2am in the beat room watching returns. Were you there?

Leave a Reply

